Unlike the first assignment, I was a bit more optimistic about my second assignment until I discovered we had to use a string to help us with the proportions. Having used a pencil for proportions in my first assignment, I was quite apprehensive about the string technique.  Mikaela (our TA) did a commendable job in helping me understand this technique  but it was not until I let go of my fears that my drawing began to even slightly resemble a chair.

 After 30 minutes of looking, deciding my unit of measure and being completely overwhelmed by the project at hand,  I drew a few lines and took  break. A day later, I came back with a fresh pair of eyes and embarked on my journey of artistic discovery with a little more confidence than before. I began drawing the top part of the chair and used it as a unit of measure to draw the rest of the chair. Drawing the length of the chair before everything else especially helped me with measuring out the size of the negative spaces between the rungs as well as ensuring the correct proportion of the different parts of the chair.

It was only after about two and a half hours that I felt confident enough to make my lines more visible. After a total of about four hours, my drawing began looking like the chair on display (without the bottom rungs). I felt quite accomplished until  I had to draw the bottom rungs of the chair. This is the part of the assignment that really tested my patience. I spent about 45 minutes just attempting to get the proper angles and proportion, after a while I just left and came back a few hours later to complete my project. I am quite relieved and proud of the result, I don’t think the hours I put in it were a waste of time at all. Hope prevails.